Skip navigation

My goal today was to weld up about 60 feet of seams on a sculpture so that it will be ready for grinding tomorrow.  And I am happy to say that the welding went fine, other than a couple interuptions, a trip to Fedex and another trip to Daytona (the world’s most famous beach) and a trip to the auto mechanic. In Daytona I had to buy cardboard and 10 pound barbell weights.  The cardboard is for making patterns and the weights are to work on my upper body strength and manly physique.  Actually, the weights are to weld into the inside of a sculpture to add weight for balance, but don’t tell anybody, it’s our secret.

Ok, the welding went great… then I stood back to take a look at the thing I had welded… (by the way, this piece is twelve feet long and eight feet wide and weighs about 600 pounds) … and it looked a tad askew.  Well, the reason it is a bit out of  allignment is that I “fixed”  it prior to welding it up when it wasn’t really “broken” even though I thought it was and now it really is “broken”.  Why the quotes, you ask.  Well, I have been told a time or two in my life that if it isn’t broken don’t fix it.  Nonsense, I say.   I now have created a new opportunity (see title) to figure out how to move about six feet of welded steel with about twelve internal, welded braces 3/4 inches into alignment.  Tomorrow I will be unwelding with my unwelder tool and I will fix it.  And at the end of the day I will have learned one more time not to fix what’s not broken.  Until next time.

My neighbor Charlie, metal working guru, just stopped by and told me that no one but me would ever notice this 3/4 inch error.  That being said, I will try to fix it tomorrow.

Next blog entry will include photos to illustrate the fascinating entries to date or photos of my dog, Bogie or his cousin Sophie.  Bogie  still thinks or wishes that she is just visiting.

Until next time…

3 Comments

  1. You can add excellent writer to your list of talents. Really enjoying your blog entries!

  2. Keep it coming, I love these updates. You really are a great writer.

  3. Jon, I have walked through your 3 blogs. I have all kinds of stuff on my feet. I look forward to # 4. Jim


Leave a Reply

